Sign in to follow this  
Zoe_R

Game Writing

Question

I am interested in exploring writing for video games (as opposed to my usual theatre/radio writing)! I've never done it before, so wondering if anyone has any tips of which kind of programmes I could use, general game writing advice, or (besides my local uni game dev society/team) any groups online that work on developing freelance/indie titles? I have done a fair share of Googling, but looking for some suggestions as to which kinds of things would be the best pick. If that makes sense!

Thanks! And hope you're in for a fab weekend :D 

• Like 1

1 answer to this question

Posted (edited)

Oh wow I know you posted this all the way back on March 2nd but I hope that I can provide a little bit of help.

I think the first question to consider is what sort of game that you want to make.  From the sounds of it, given your interest on writing, you would do best following an RPG or interactive story format.  RPGs tend to give lots of opportunity for story development and quirky NPCs (who can provide useful gameplay mechanic information or supplementary story telling bits) while still having a turn-based combat type of game play.  For reference such games include Final Fantasy, Earthbound, Mario & Luigi, Persona, Pokemon, and plenty of others.  On the other hand, interactive stories (a shining example being Kan Gao's "To the Moon" series) are great for indie developers who want to tell a story through a game interface, without having to worry too much about balancing out game stuff (programming gameplay, difficulty balancing, how interesting it is, etc.).

There's all kinds of ways to incorporate story into other game styles but since I'm no programmer (a regret of mine, I admit) I can only comfortably talk about using an RPG or interactive story based game engine.