luvkirby4ever

How do you create self-imposed deadlines?

Question

I was listening to a podcast (I'm pretty sure it was "Still Buffering", episode "How to Procrastinate") when I heard an artist talk about setting up deadlines in order to be productive with their art.  She talked about how if she didn't set a deadline that she would infinitely work on the art piece, and that that's the reason why setting a deadline was important for her.  Otherwise, she'd never consider anything "finished".

As an artist, I can immensely relate to that.  I've been trying to work on a fan/webcomic for awhile now but I have problems with completing pages.  I could go into a lot of details but the tldr version of it is that I am a fairly unskilled artist who needs a lot of time to work on pieces but am taking forever to make pages.  So I've decided that I want to create a self-imposed deadline for myself.

What's the best way to approach this?  I've participated twice in Inktober (a drawing challenge that requires drawing 1 picture for each day of October) so I'm a bit familiar with community-inspired deadlines but doing something all on my own?  How do I make myself accountable?  Also, how do I figure out an appropriate deadline?  I want to post weekly but I've got to do this enough to improve my skills first- as of right now the only weekly pages I can manage based on my schedule is if work gets cancelled for an additional 2 days and I know what I'm doing.  But at the same time, by 2 weeks it both feels too long and at that point I get sick of the page and start putting it off because I start hating it.

Any tips are appreciated :o